Days 95 to 97: Another Baskteball game + other stuff!!

Standard

So I guess you could say the most interesting thing that happened during these days was the second Basketball game I went to. The game was against Hofstra (who?) and our team did worse than in the first match, but we still won. One thing I noticed was that NC State’s team need to train their free throws. They failed the majority of them in both games and aren’t free throws supposed to give you free points? The football team won the game against Wake Forest and that was expected. I didn’t go there and that was the last home game. They are now bow eligible, whatever that means (I suppose it’s some kind of tournament where they compete to see who wins the bowl). And oh yeah, this time I managed to sit in the first row and was able to watch the game with a much better view. I was even recorded by the camera (although I didn’t realize that until it was too late and a friend of mine was trying to tell me to look at the camera)

This is the last full week of classes and gosh, everything happened so fast. It didn’t feel like I was progressing from the beginning to the end. It still feels like I just started the semester. That’s weird. I never experienced something quite like this in Brazil. I guess it’s because I haven’t quite yet adapted myself to the way classes work here.

I feel a bit nervous about the news presentation that will probably be this Thursday (the professor changed the schedule so many times I can’t figure out when it will be). I don’t like giving presentations at all, but I do my best when I have to. I’ve been doing them for such a long time and still, sometimes, I feel a bit nervous. It’s just a short presentation, so whatever happens, it will be quick.

I never managed to make any true friends from the classes I have been taking here. I suppose it’s because all the students that go to them already have their friends since they are not from freshman courses and the fact that Americans aren’t exactly interested in that sort of thing.

IMG_20141117_185536

Thanksgiving is almost here and soon I will have to buy the entrance tickets to Disney World. As I said, my plan on the first day is to find the place. If I have time and if I determine I can explore the surroundings a little bit, then I will do that. In the next 3 days I will be at Disney. I will only get out of there to go back to the Motel. On the last day, I will try to explore the city of Orlando a little bit, but since I will be with my bag, I’m not sure I will be able to do that. If I can find a good place to leave my bag at, I will definitely do that and roam the streets until I’m ready to keep waiting for my train. It’s gonna be a wild trip back to Raleigh because I right after coming back, I will have to go to class to do a quiz homework. Both going to Disney and coming back will be at night, so unfortunately I won’t be able to see much. That’s unfortunate because I was told the views from the train are always beautiful.

I’m a little worried about the finals. I have never studied for a test that cover an entire semester, so I feel very unprepared. What I do know is that CE 382 is going to take the most of my time, though at least I know to study for its final. Studying for Oceanography is tricky because I can’t rely on the slides since they are all just pictures, but it shouldn’t take me too long to review all the questions I answered, the main concepts and the older tests. CE 381’s final should be easy both to do (content covered was easy to understand) and to study for (all I will have to do is to redo the in-class quizzes). FOR 220’s final will be about the same as CE 381’s. It will just take some more time to study for it than for the other one. The long story short is that I feel confident with some of the course’s finals, but certainly not with all of them.

I do miss Brazilian food. I knew I would, but I was too stupid to admit it to my friends. I miss the dish with rice, beans, salad and meat, and a glass full of natural, healthy juice. I miss coxinhas, canjica, feijoada, a good lasagna, Brazilian pizza. I’m so gonna have as much as my stomach can when I go back!

I like my glasses now. They look sharp, shinny and I’ve gotten used to the design. I knew it was always just a question of getting used to it.

Leave a Reply

