From Days 195 to 219: Sorry I forgot to write here for almost a month

Standard

The truth this is becoming a burden to me. I liked writing here in the beginning every day, but not anymore. Anyhow, I will stick to my promise of covering all days.

These past many days have been marked by the Spring Break. I gotta tell you I stayed at Alexander until the last day. I went to bed pretty late and didn’t want to wake up early. The hall closing time was at 10 AM. A woman passed by all rooms, knocking on all doors and woke me up at 8 AM. I went to bed at around 3 AM, so I didn’t get a lot of sleep that day. After waking up, packing up everything to go to King Village felt like a race. I didn’t rush it, but I was worried of leaving after 10 AM. I sure as hell didn’t want to get locked inside or having to pay more for the extra minutes I stayed here. Nevertheless, I managed to get out more than 30 min before closing time. Getting to King Village took around 30 min and it was tiresome. My bags were heavy. I had to suitable places for everything, including the PS4 and the headsets, which I consider fragile (games, controller, etc, as well).

IMG_20150226_104526

When I got to King Village, I knew I was gonna love that place and miss it. When I got to the main office, I had to call someone to get me my key because there was no one there. I got into the room and soon found out that besides having a kitchen, it was (almost) fully equipped. There were glasses, pots and pans, forks, knives, spoons, etc. The only missing there was a pressure cooker, but I didn’t mind not having it too much because they sell cooked beans at Food Lion (they call them Pinto Beans). After leaving everything in the room, I went to Food Lion to buy all the food I would need to cook lunch and dinner, as well as having breakfast in the morning. But since it was late and I hadn’t had breakfast, I went to Bojangles to get myself lunch. Honestly, I will never understand why people here like that place so much. Their food is nothing better than average and their fries are way too salty. But anyway, I enjoyed buying food at Food Lion. It was nice figuring out what I was going to need to cook rice.

I also had to wash my clothes since I was so worried about not having enough time to do it at Alexander that I put dirty clothes in the main bag. It was a busy day and I had time to play at night only (gosh, do I miss having to worry about playing only during those days). Good thing it was rest day from the gym and I didn’t have to go there as well, since thank goodness it was open during the Break. I played GTA with my friend that night, but went to bed pretty early because I was tired as fuck.

I cooked rice that day for an official, first time cooking rice it was okay. Put too much water, but I liked it. Much better than the steamed rice I have here sometimes at Fountain. Cooked sausage links, made myself lettuce (with the proper seasonings, that is, salt, oil and lemon, although there was no lemon at Food Lion and I had to buy some kind of crystallized lemon, which was expensive, but totally worth it, to put in the salad). I also bought Orange Tang to make juices, and for breakfast I got grape jelly, bread buns, low fat white milk and chocolate milk, and corn flakes. I love my everyday breakfast I have and didn’t want to get something different. There was a machine to make coffee, but as of I now I prefer that to making my own coffee. I wouldn’t have french bread since it’s pretty nonexistent around these parts.

IMG_20150226_083515

The next few days were comprised of enjoying myself, pretty much. Waking up from an awesome bed that’s double the size of the one I have at Alexander, peace and tranquility all day long, going to an almost empty gym, making my own dinner and lunch, playing Resident Evil 5 with my friend at night, trying to playing GTA V… good times, good times indeed. I love King Village and if I could, I would return there, unfortunately, that was my first and only time there.

The last days there were sad ones. Knowing I would have to get back to this favela sucked. Sucked even more than knowing I would have classes again. However, I spent all my time there only on things I like. It was very relaxing. And did I forget to mention I left my mechanical pencil in the dirty clothes when putting them in the washing machine and dryer? It completely destroyed it and it is about $8. I will never let that happen again, for sure! In the grand scheme of things, though, it was just a minor annoyance. I quickly forgot it hahahahah

Before the Break I had some Snow Days and tests. The tests were alright and I miss the Snow Days, since it’s Spring time already. I made a snowman in the last snow day and a snow angel, although the latter didn’t turn out just they way I had hoped hahahaha

Anyway, this first new week at Alexander has been just like I imagined it would be. Full of favelados making barulhos e cachorrada all the time.

IMG_20150226_091714

Leave a Reply

